Lofgren Named Track and Field Coach of the Year

Lofgren Named Track and Field Coach of the Year

El Camino College Track and Field Head Coach Dean Lofgren was named the 2018 California Community College Cross Country and Track Coaches' Association (5CTCA) Men's Track Coach of the Year, it was announced Tuesday.

Involved with the ECC Track and Field and Cross Country programs since 1989, Lofgren earned the award from the 5CTCA after coaching a pair of CCCAA Individual State Champions this season.

Under his leadership this year, Carson Bix won the CCCAA State Championship in the 1,500m with a time of 3:54.58, capping off a stellar season in which he went undefeated against CCCAA competitors in the event. Bix also came in second in the 5,000m with a time of 15:39.83, seven seconds back of the winner.

In addition, Jasher Foster took home the state championship in the 110m high hurdles and tied his own record-setting all-time ECC mark with a 14.11 finish. He also went undefeated against CCCAA competition during the year.

Along with the accomplishments at the state championships, Lofgren led the men's team to a third-place finish at the CCCAA Southern California Regional Championships with Foster and Bix winning the 110m HH and the 1,500m respectively.

The men's team also placed third at the South Coast Conference championships with five conference titles in the 110m HH (Foster), 800m (Bix), 1,500m (Bix), Pole Vault (Tate Curran) and 4x400 meter relay (Larry Hudson, Wyatt Davidson, Dharan Woods, Qwintin Workman).

One of the most respected and admired coaches amongst his peers, Lofgren has garnered 6 CCCAA and 26 South Coast Conference Coach-of-the-Year Honors in his illustrious career. In 2017, Lofgren was inducted into the 5CTCA Hall of Fame.