Bibb Earns First Team All-State Selection

Bibb Earns First Team All-State Selection

El Camino College sophomore Kayla Bibb added to her trophy case as she was named to the California Community College All-State First Team.

Bibb and the rest of the All-State Team was honored at the Banquet of Champions, which was held prior to the start of the CCCAA State Championships on Wednesday.

The 5-foot-9 forward had a spectacular season for the Warriors in her sophomore campaign in 2017-18. She led the team in scoring at 16.4 points per game and shot 51.5 percent from the field. Her 10.3 rebounds per game were also the best on the team along with 1.2 blocks per game. Her 2.0 steals a game were second on the team.

All those statistics earned Bibb the South Coast Conference Player of the Year Award as she helped lead the Warriors to their second straight SCC, South Division title and third in the last four years.

In the postseason, Bibb had one of the best games of her career as she scored 26 points and grabbed 22 rebounds to lead the Warriors to a 62-50 win over West Los Angeles in the second round of the CCCAA Playoffs.

In the CCCAA Regional Final at Mount San Jacinto, Bibb posted another double-double with 26 points and 10 rebounds as the Warriors trailed by only two after three quarters before eventually falling, 81-67, to the Eagles.

In her two-year career with the Warriors, Bibb played in 51 games, making 47 starts including starting in all 28 games this season. She averaged 14.5 points and 8.5 rebounds per game along with 1.5 steals and 1.2 blocks a game. She shot 51.4 percent from the field and 66 percent from the free throw line.

All-State Women's Basketball

2017-18 First Team

Player of the Year: Britney Thomas So. Mt. San Jacinto

Jon'Nae Vermillion So. Mt. San Antonio College

Monica Todd So. Palomar College

Rebecca Islas So. LA Valley College

Kasey Smit So. Irvine Valley College

Kayla Bibb So. El Camino College

Second Team

Alisa Shinn So. Pasadena City College

DeLacy Brown So. Mt. San Jacinto College

Dominique McLaughlin So. Mt. San Antonio College

Vanessa Perryman So. Palomar College

Davina Del Castillo So. Ventura College

Vivian Lara So. Cypress College

Third Team

Ijeoma Anugwom Fr. West Los Angeles College

Monica Garcia So. East Los Angeles College

Barbara Rangel Fr. Moorpark College

Deja Smith So. Antelope Valley College

JoAna Adams So. Riverside Community College

Serena Rendon Fr. Cerritos College